Being part of the experience is its own reward
Cart 0
Formula 1 Print 1991 - Andrea de Cesaris driving his Jordan-Ford 191 at the 1991 Belgian Grand Prix at Spa-Francorchamps - Legends Of The Sport

Formula 1 Print 1991 - Andrea de Cesaris driving his Jordan-Ford 191 at the 1991 Belgian Grand Prix at Spa-Francorchamps

Andrea de Cesaris (ITA) in his Team 7-Up Jordan-Ford 191 Cosworth DFV at the 1991 Belgium Grand Prix in Spa-Francorchamps on August 25th. He retired on lap 41 with an engine problem.  Ayrton Senna (BRA) won the race, having started on pole position.  Fellow Brazilian Robert Moreno (BRA) recorded the fastest lap of the race.  

The 1991 Formula One season was the 42nd season of FIA Formula One motor racing. It featured the 1991 FIA Formula One World Championship, which commenced on 10 March 1991 and ended on 3 November after sixteen races. Ayrton Senna won his third and last Drivers' World Championship and McLaren-Honda won the Constructors' Championship. Senna's main title challenger was Nigel Mansell at Williams, who won five races on his return to the team compared to Senna's seven. Senna's fierce rival Alain Prost failed to win a race with Ferrari in stark contrast to his title challenge the year before and left the team even before the end of the season. 1991 also saw the debuts of future world champions Michael Schumacher and Mika Häkkinen.  

The Jordan 191 was the first Formula One car built by Jordan Grand Prix and participated in the 1991 Formula One season. The car was designed by a team of three staff led by chief designer Gary Anderson.  Five drivers took part in the sixteen round championship for the team. Andrea de Cesaris was the only one to drive the full season, despite failing to pre-qualify for the opening round of the championship in Phoenix. It was also de Cesaris who scored the team's best finish of the season, with a fourth place at both Montreal and at Mexico City. Bertrand Gachot secured his best finish of his shortened season, with a fifth place - just over 2 seconds behind de Cesaris at the finish. Gachot's season was curtailed by a two-month prison sentence, for spraying CS gas at a taxi driver inLondon.  

Over the final six races, three drivers filled in for Gachot - Alessandro Zanardi, Roberto Moreno and Michael Schumacher. Schumacher was a revelation in his one and only race weekend for Jordan. At the 1991 Belgian Grand Prix, Schumacher qualified a superb seventh on the grid (Jordan's joint-best ever at that time), out-qualifying de Cesaris who was eleventh. However, the high did not last, as the clutch failed within the first mile of the race.  There followed a legal wrangle between Benetton and Jordan, with Schumacher signing for Benetton - a team with which he would later win two world championships - sending Moreno packing from Benetton and Jordan signed him up. He did two races before handing another debutant, Zanardi, his debut in the final three races. A pair of ninths were the best results that any of Gachot's replacements achieved.  

In their first season, Jordan finished an impressive fifth in the championship, scoring 13 points along the way. The 191 is also considered by many to be one of the most beautiful Formula 1 cars of all time. The car won the Autosport Racing Car of the Year award for 1991.  

Printable Gifts by Category:

Share this Product